2002 Grand Final

2002 Results




Central Coast Division Rugby League 2002 Grand Final Winners

Cool Roos do the job

Cool Roos do the job

Centre: Wyong captain-coach Troy Pezet hoists the premiership cup, atop shoulders. Inset: Winger Kevin Turkington signals a Roos’ victory after his try on Sunday.

THE ENTRANCE niggled but Wyong was unshakable in winning the Carlton VB rugby league grand final 22-8 at NorthPower Stadium on Sunday 1st September.

It was the Roos’ first premiership since 1997, and a second consecutive grand final loss for the Tigers. It was almost an uncharacteristic performance from Wyong who have been prone to faltering at the final hurdle. But on Sunday, the Roos were cool-headed and methodical. Each player knew his role and played it accordingly, and patiently.

In contrast, The Entrance appeared out of sorts and out of shape from the start. Frustrated by Wyong’s completion rate and effective kicking game, the minor premiers were undisciplined.
Penalty goals to fullback Dean Amos sent the Roos to a 4-nil lead midway through the first stanza. Wyong added a further four points when halfback Jason Cashin sent wide-running backrower Rod Bird through a hole, to score out wide five minutes later.
Referee Peter Betts then dismissed Entrance captain Jamy Forbes for a high tackle on lock Dave Lawton. Amos duly posted another two points.

And things only got worse for the Tigers after the break. Wyong five-eighth Matt Ross kicked through a loose ball, and won the race to touch down on the left-hand flank.
Amos converted then had a hand in the next try soon after, when he looped a long ball to winger Kevin Turkington who sprinted 15m to cross.

Wyong interchange forward Chris Unger was sent off by Mr Betts after a fight broke out in a scrum with 15 minutes left on the clock. The Entrance rallied to score twice through wingers Ryan Wheele and Brian Rees, but the game was gone.
Second-rower Danny Sommerville was adjudged Man of the Match, while Cashin, hooker Nathan Allsop, and lock Dave Lawton were also outstanding for the Roos.

The Roos won premierships in three grades, beating The Entrance 16-14 in reserve grade, and 31-26 following extra time in the U/19s. The only loss of the day occurred when Ourimbah outpointed Wyong 24-10 in the U/17s.

This completes a great year for the Wyong club, having also won the Country Challenge Cup 28-24 over the Tweed Heads Seagulls on 6th April.

Article and picture from www.suntoday.com.au Ultimate Rewards

Top of Page   Home